top of page
  • Writer's pictureDestinee

-Peanut Butter Crinkle Cookies-

Updated: May 21, 2020

Man, I practically grew up on peanut butter cookies! My mom had a recipe using just peanut butter, eggs, and sugar that she would whip up for almost every occasion. I got a craving for them recently, but since they are not vegan, I had to improvise. I wanted to incorporate the fluffy,  the sweet, the crispy edge, and the chewy center (like my Mom’s recipe), but figured I’d spice it up a bit for the blog and for photo purposes by rolling them in powdered sugar before baking to give the “crinkle” look that photographs so well.

So… here is what I came up with. 100% vegan peanut butter cookies. Daughter tested, and mother approved!

Feel free to add some oats for extra protein, or chocolate chips for some more sweetness. Let me know if you tried this recipe or made any changes and how your cookies turned out!

Ingredients

1 cup brown sugar

¼ cup applesauce

½ cup coconut oil, melted

1 tsp vanilla extract

¾ cup smooth peanut butter

1 tsp baking soda

1½ cups of flour

OPTIONAL: ¼ cup oats + ¼ cup chocolate (chips or chopped)

OPTIONAL: ½ cup powdered sugar (for coating)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350*, and lightly grease a cookie sheet (or use parchment paper).

  2. Combine sugar, applesauce, oil, vanilla and peanut butter. Mix until smooth and uniform.

  3. Add flour and baking soda, and mix until incorporated.

  4. Fold in chocolate and oats.

  5. Scoop 2-3 TBSP sized balls of dough and roll them in powdered sugar

  6. Flatten slightly onto cookie sheet. Just a light push, don't press them down too much.

  7. Bake for 9-11 minutes or until edges are lightly browned.

  8. DEVOUR!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page